All Natural Vapor Rub Alternative

So I (Kate) and the girl children that I spawned have been keeping ourselves busy outside as often as possible now that the weather has gotten nice.  However, on the rainy days we did some shopping and some creating.

I don’t know about everyone else’s houses, but in our house, we go through VapoRub like the stuff will cure all the ails of the planet.  So I set out to find a way to make my own…also because I don’t like the nasty greasy feel of the store bought kind.

This is what we came up with:

  • 3 Tablespoons coconut oil
  • 10 drop eucalyptus essential oil
  • 2 drops rosemary essential oil
  • 5 drops lavender essential oil

IMG_1949

And it was literally so easy a 6 year old can do it and mine did. You just mix it all together.  So simple and easy!  It may have even been easier if I had melted the coconut oil before adding the essential oils.

IMG_1950

After she was done I did use the electric hand mixer and give it a whirl to smooth the consistency before putting it in a jar, but for the most part she did it all on her own.  Again, if I had melted the coconut oil, I wouldn’t have had to use the mixer on it, but we’re learning as we go.  Next time I’ll melt it down to save myself some time, but it literally only took 3 minutes to make a batch of it.  And it smells better than the store bought stuff.  It’s still “stinky” so that it works, but the lavender really gives it another layer.

It will be a staple in our house from now on, that’s for sure.  No more icky VapoRub.

Leave a Reply

